Democrats lead each Senate elections in Georgia

The democratic dynamic in Georgia continues as both Raphael Warnock and Jon Ossoff have small advantages in the Senate runoff elections.

A new survey by SurveyUSA commissioned for 11Alive found:

The poll shows that in the runoff between Perdue and the Democratic challenger Jon Ossoff, the candidates actually run effectively. The survey shows Ossoff with 50 percent, nominally 2 points ahead of Perdue with 48 percent.

… ..

In the other runoff election, Democrat Raphael Warnock has a small but measurable advantage over Loeffler, 52 to 45 percent. In this special election for Johnny Isakson's old seat, Warnock had the most votes out of a field of around 20 candidates with around 33%. Loeffler was second with around 26%, ahead of Rep. Doug Collins with 20%.

Efforts by Trump and his supporters to prevent Republicans from voting in the runoff elections could have a massive impact. Joe Biden won Georgia with 12,670 votes, and high-ranking state election officials warn that Trump's efforts to reverse the results in the state will lower Republican turnout.

There is still more than a month to election day January 5, 2021, but there could be a perfect storm building against the Republicans in the state. Trump's attacks on the integrity of the electoral process, combined with two unpopular incumbents and a democratic turnout that has shown no signs of slowing, could result in Georgia giving the Democrats control of the Senate.

Thanks to Trump, Republicans in Georgia are in big trouble as the president may still win his party's Senate majority if he leaves office.

For more discussions on this story, join our Rachel Maddow and MSNBC groups.

Follow and like PoliticusUSA on Facebook

Mr. Easley is the Founder / Senior Editor, White House Press Pool, and a Congressional Correspondent for PoliticusUSA. Jason has a bachelor's degree in political science. His thesis focused on public order with a specialization in social reform movements.

Awards and professional memberships

Member of the Society of Professional Journalists and the American Political Science Association

Related Articles