Nancy Pelosi beats up Senate Republicans for dishonoring America by voting to not condemn Trump

The Pelosi House spokesman said Mitch McConnell and other Senate Republicans who voted not to condemn Trump had dishonored America.

The spokesman said in part in a statement to PoliticusUSA:

Today an overwhelming bipartisan vote to condemn Donald Trump speaks for the courage of the US Senate. I salute the Republican Senators who voted for their conscience and for our country. Other Senate Republicans' refusal to hold Trump accountable for sparking a violent uprising to take power will be seen as one of the darkest days and most dishonorable acts in our nation's history.

On January 15th, the House Impeachment Managers were gathered to deliver the article of impeachment. They were told that the item could not be obtained because the Senate was closed. It is so pathetic that Senator McConnell kept the Senate closed so the Senate could not receive the impeachment article, and used this as his excuse for not condemning Donald Trump.

Tragically, the Senate Republicans, who voted not to condemn, chose to forsake the Constitution, the country, and the American people with that vote. Thank God for the judges and elected Republican officials across the country who opposed Donald Trump's attempt to overthrow our election, which has fueled the uprising.

The seven Senate Republicans who voted to condemn Trump did what is right for the nation. However, they have been more than 6 to 1 defeated by members of their own caucus who are either so ambitious and cynical or so scared that they refused to stand up to Trump.

The Republicans who voted not to condemn, including Senate minority leader McConnell, are a shame and a blemish on the nation.

For more discussions on this story, join our Rachel Maddow and MSNBC groups.

Follow and like PoliticusUSA on Facebook

Mr. Easley is the Founder / Senior Editor, White House Press Pool, and a Congressional Correspondent for PoliticusUSA. Jason has a bachelor's degree in political science. His thesis focused on public order with a specialization in social reform movements.

Awards and professional memberships

Member of the Society of Professional Journalists and the American Political Science Association

Related Articles